Such stuff dreams are made on

While explaining one of my working paintings, the topic of Salvador Dali came up. Ever since I saw his painting, the Dream, at the Vancouver Art Gallery, I could not stop thinking about it. The enormity and the familiarity of it all was captivating in every way, and I was fascinated and mesmerized as I stood there for the couple seconds, before being forced to move by the swarming mob who all wanted a closer look at the masterpiece. But soon after that, I started following his work, and it became a huge inspiration for me. 
One of the recurring themes in Dali’s works is dreams. Those passing scenes that are so strange and intangible, and so precious due to their finite nature. If we could in some way capture our dreams in their original form and salvage the sight, smell, touch, and all the emotions involved in it, I think we could reach the height of our creativity and the highest form of art. One of the first things my professor taught us was to never leave our sketchbooks, especially when we go to sleep. He told us about the time his dream helped him when he was stuck on a design. Mid-sleep, he sat straight up, grabbed his sketchbook, and started sketching like a madman. 
However, when obsession takes over, as they often do, there’s times and days and a lifetime that become a blur. Theres a fine but sometimes unrecognizable line between dreams and reality and often times, we can’t distinguish dreams from reality and we live in confusion. But we like dreams.
The Dream

