Chicago

Chicago, Illinois

Today was eventful. Dave left for London last night, so it was my first day alone in the city. I am without GPS or map and with my sense of direction, I should not be allowed to go out. However, along with my adventurous spirit, I have an irrational belief in my abilities and luck and as I’ve done in the past, I drew out a little map and wrote down my bus stops in my notebook. Needless to say, I got lost, incidentally in the worst part of town, and luckily got a ride home from the police.

Chicago seems much like Vancouver to me – beaches, friendly people, nice weather, and great architecture, all within the city core. I’ve been craving beach for a while and I’m way behind on my readings for my online courses, so I decided to go to Oak Street Beach and satisfy myself. First, I wanted to stop by downtown in Millenium Park and see Cloud Gate and Crown Fountain. When I walked by Gehry’s Jay Pritzker Pavilion, I found out they were showing Giselle at 7:30. My love for ballet and desire to see a show in Gehry’s craze overrode my beach crave so I stuck around.

